Dr. Tom Noseworthy


Tom NoseworthyDr. Tom Noseworthy is CEO of the BC Academic Health Science Network and is Professor of Health Policy and Management, Department of Community Health Sciences and Institute for Public Health, University of Calgary.  He is the former vice-president (medical services) and CEO of the Royal Alexandra Hospitals, Edmonton and Chair of the Department of Public Health Sciences, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Alberta and Department of Community Health Sciences, University of Calgary. Dr. Noseworthy also sits on the Board of Directors for the Canadian Frailty Network.

He is a physician, and holds an MSc in experimental medicine from the University of Alberta, and a Masters of Public Health in health policy and management from Harvard. He served as a member of the Prime Minister’s National Forum on Health from 1994-1997, and chaired the steering committee; co-chaired the Advisory Council on Health Infrastructure (Federal Health Minister) from 1997-1999; chaired the Senior Reference Committee for Alberta Wellnet from 1997-2002; and was Chair of the Western Canada Waiting List Project from 1999-2006. He was a founding Director of Canadian Doctors for Medicare in 2007.

Dr. Noseworthy’s work has been recognized by the Commonwealth, his country, province, university and colleagues. In 2005, he was awarded the Alberta Centennial Medal by the Province of Alberta for contributions to health care and policy. In that same year, he was also named as one of Alberta’s Top 100 Physicians of the Century by his peers in the Alberta Medical Association and College of Physicians and Surgeons. In 2007, he was appointed by the Governor General as Member of the Order of Canada, for contributions to health policy and Medicare, and in 2012, he received the Diamond Jubilee medal marking in recognition of contributions to health care. He was the recipient of the 2014 CIHR Barer-Flood Prize in Health Services and Policy Research, and in 2016, the Jill M. Sanders Award of Excellence in Health Technology Assessment from the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH). In 2017 he was inducted into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) and honoured by delivering the Cy Frank lecture across Canada.